الإخبارية
VR

إعادة تدوير أنظمة الاستزراع المائي

2022/07/25

إعادة تدوير أنظمة الاستزراع المائي: تحسين أداء السلمون الأطلسي

كوكب مستدام

18 مايو 2022

 

تم تصميم مشروع RAS 4.0 ، الذي يقوده معهد أبحاث الغذاء النرويجي Nofima ، لتحسين أنظمة إعادة تدوير الأحياء المائية لتحسين رفاهية وأداء السلمون الأطلسي. هنا ، تشرح يلينا كولارفيتش ، قائدة المشروع والباحثة الأولى في Nofima ، المزيد.


جيلينا كولارفيتش ، باحثة أولى في نوفيما

تربية الأحياء المائية لديها إمكانات لا شك فيها للمساهمة في زيادة إمدادات البروتين لسكان العالم المتزايدين. في الآونة الأخيرة ، كانت الطريقة الأسرع نموًا والأكثر فاعلية لإنتاج البروتين للاستهلاك البشري. على مدى السنوات العشرين الماضية ، تضاعف الإنتاج العالمي من تربية الأحياء المائية ثلاث مرات من 34 إلى 112 مليون طن متري من الوزن الحي ، ويتزايد الطلب على منتجات تربية الأحياء المائية. كما زاد إنتاج وتصدير المأكولات البحرية في النرويج في السنوات الأخيرة. تعد النرويج اليوم ثاني أكبر دولة مصدرة للمأكولات البحرية ، حيث تم تصدير 3.1 مليون طن متري من المأكولات البحرية بقيمة 12.1 مليار يورو في عام 2021. السلمون الأطلسي هو أهم وأهم عنصر تصدير المأكولات البحرية ، حيث يمثل ما يقرب من 68 ٪ من إجمالي قيمة الصادرات في العام الماضي.

ومع ذلك ، فقد خضعت استدامة إنتاج السلمون الأطلسي وأدائه في تربية الأحياء المائية للتدقيق في العقود القليلة الماضية بسبب مساهمته المحتملة في انخفاض مخزون الأسماك البرية في جميع أنحاء العالم. على وجه التحديد ، يعتبر سمك السلمون الأطلسي من الأنواع آكلة اللحوم التي تتطلب استخدام زيت السمك ومسحوق السمك في نظامه الغذائي ، لإدارة أدائه ورفاهيته ، والتي تنشأ بشكل أساسي من الأنشوجة والرنجة والكريل. تم استهداف هذه الأنواع بشكل كبير من قبل مصايد الأسماك بسبب ارتفاع الطلب على مسحوق السمك والزيت.

لتلبية الطلب المتزايد على الأغذية المنتجة بشكل مستدام ، بُذلت جهود لاستبدال المنتجات القائمة على الأسماك في علف السلمون بمصادر بديلة للبروتين ، بما في ذلك البروتينات النباتية والمكونات الميكروبية والطحالب والحشرات. وقد تم ذلك بالتوازي مع البحث المكثف حول كفاءة الأعلاف وتغذية الأسماك. ونتيجة لذلك ، انخفضت كمية زيت السمك ومسحوق السمك في علف السلمون من 90٪ في التسعينيات إلى 25٪ الآن.


        

        

        

الابتكار في الاستزراع المائي النرويجي

كان التحدي الآخر الذي يواجه الاستدامة في صناعة السلمون النرويجي في السنوات الأخيرة هو إدارة مسببات الأمراض والطفيليات أثناء الإنتاج. منذ عام 2017 ، كان معدل وفيات السلمون الأطلسي المبلغ عنه بين 14.7-16.1 ٪ من إجمالي الإنتاج ، وهو ما يمثل 54 مليون فرد في عام 2021. كانت مكافحة قمل السلمون بمثابة كعب أخيل الذي يعيق أهداف الإنتاج المرغوبة ، ويزيد من تكاليف التشغيل ، ويؤثر على رفاهية الأسماك ويقلل من أرباح صناعة تربية الأحياء المائية السلمون.

وقد بذلت محاولات للحد من استخدام المواد الكيميائية في معالجة هذا الطفيل لمنع مقاومته المكتسبة والحد من التلوث البيئي. بدلاً من ذلك ، تم القيام باستثمارات ضخمة في تطوير تقنيات جديدة لإزالة الأسماك أو منع الاتصال بين السلمون وقملة البحر. تم تطوير واختبار تقنيات إنتاج جديدة ومبتكرة ، مثل أغطية قمل البحر للأقفاص البحرية أو أنظمة الاحتواء شبه المغلقة العائمة في البحر ، كطرق لمنع الإصابة بالقمل. إعادة تدوير أنظمة الاستزراع المائي (RAS) تم استخدامها في العقد الماضي كحل فعال لزيادة الأمن البيولوجي والسيطرة على الطفيليات ومسببات الأمراض. في الوقت نفسه ، يوفر RAS طريقة أكثر صداقة للبيئة لإنتاج سمك السلمون.

في النرويج ، كان استخدام RAS مدفوعًا بنقص المياه العذبة التي من شأنها أن تسمح بزيادة الإنتاج في مفرخات السلمون قبل مرحلة التسمين في الأقفاص البحرية. ومع ذلك ، أدت المشكلات المتعلقة بقمل السلمون والهاربين وزيادة الوفيات إلى تغيير اللوائح التي سمحت بالإنتاج المطول للسلمون على الأرض في المياه العذبة والمياه المالحة ومياه البحر. حاليًا ، يقوم عدد من منتجي السلمون في النرويج بإنتاج أسماك أكبر على اليابسة في RAS ، تليها مرحلة إنتاج مياه البحر الأقصر. وبهذه الطريقة ، يمكن تقليل الإنتاج في البحر إلى سبعة أشهر فقط ، وبالتالي يمكن تقليل الحاجة إلى استخدام المواد الكيميائية والطرق الأخرى لمحاربة القملة. ومع ذلك ، فإن RAS هي أغلى طريقة لإنتاج السلمون في النرويج وهي قابلة للتطبيق ، وذلك بسبب الزيادة المستمرة في تكاليف تشغيل الإنتاج في قفص البحر. © 1 iStock / slowmotiongli-122


ما هي أنظمة الاستزراع المائي المعاد تدويرها (RAS)؟

RAS هي أنظمة إنتاج أرضية تسمح بتقليل استخدام المياه العذبة الجديدة من خلال معالجة وإعادة استخدام مياه المعالجة من أحواض الأسماك. من الشائع إعادة استخدام أكثر من 90٪ من المياه في RAS ، بينما يتم معالجة الكميات الصغيرة من المياه الجديدة المضافة يوميًا بدرجات مختلفة لمنع دخول الطفيليات مثل القمل ومسببات الأمراض المحتملة. تسمح المعالجة المكثفة لمياه الصرف من مرافق RAS بجمع المغذيات غير المستخدمة وإعادة تقييمها ، مما يخلق قيمة ويقلل من التلوث البيئي المحتمل. يمكن وضع إنتاج RAS بالقرب من السوق ، مما يقلل من البصمة البيئية المرتبطة بالنقل والخدمات اللوجستية ، وهو سبب آخر وراء اعتبار هذه التكنولوجيا أكثر استدامة من الناحية البيئية. ومع ذلك ، من المهم الإشارة إلى أن ارتفاع الطلب على الطاقة لتشغيل RAS يقوض إمكانات الاستدامة.

في إطار معالجة RAS ، يتم إزالة العلف غير المأكول والفضلات من الأسماك ميكانيكيًا ، بينما يتم استخدام الترشيح البيولوجي لإزالة المستقلبات السامة التي تنتجها الأسماك ، مثل الأمونيا والنتريت. تعتبر عمليات تبادل الغازات ضرورية لإثراء الماء بالأكسجين ولإزالة ثاني أكسيد الكربون ، مما يوفر للأسماك الظروف اللازمة للنمو الأمثل.


غالبًا ما يُذكر أن RAS توفر ظروف إنتاج محكومة بالكامل يمكن تكييفها مع احتياجات الحيوانات المستزرعة. يمكن تحديد ذلك للتحكم في درجة الحرارة والأكسجين ودرجة الحموضة داخل الأنظمة ، جنبًا إلى جنب مع تدفق المياه وسرعة المياه وإضافة مياه جديدة. ومع ذلك ، فإن التحكم الآلي بالكامل في معايير جودة المياه الرئيسية ، مثل الأمونيا وثاني أكسيد الكربون والعكارة ، ثم إدارة التغذية واستخدام الطاقة ، لا تزال غائبة.

حاليًا ، يتم قياس معلمات جودة المياه الرئيسية يدويًا كقياسات نقطية تعمل كأساس لاتخاذ القرار أثناء العمليات اليومية. يتم تغذية الأسماك على أساس الكتلة الحيوية المقدرة في النظم ، والتي يمكن أن تؤدي في كثير من الأحيان إلى الإفراط في التغذية وتفجير نوعية المياه أو نقص التغذية ، مما يؤدي إلى انخفاض رفاهية الأسماك المنتجة. تم تصميم العديد من عمليات معالجة المياه لتحقيق أقصى قدرة إنتاجية ولا يمكن تحسينها لتقليل استخدام الطاقة عندما تكون الكتلة الحيوية أقل.

تتمثل العوائق الرئيسية للوصول إلى المستوى المطلوب من الأتمتة في الافتقار إلى أجهزة استشعار موثوقة لقياس هذه المعلمات الرئيسية ونقص النماذج التي تصف العلاقات الديناميكية فيما بينها. تتفاعل كل هذه العناصر من خلال آليات بيولوجية / كيميائية / فيزيائية معقدة غير مفهومة تمامًا. لذلك ، لا يكفي التحكم في معلمة واحدة أو تحسينها في كل مرة - يلزم وجود نموذج شامل للنظام بأكمله لتحقيق هذا المستوى من التحكم في RAS.


         
         
         


RAS 4.0

في عام 2021 ، قام مجلس الأبحاث في النرويج بتمويل مشروع بحثي مدته أربع سنوات ، يُعرف باسم RAS 4.0 ، بهدف توفير أتمتة الاستجابة السريعة المدفوعة بيولوجيًا لظروف الإنتاج في RAS. سيتحقق ذلك من خلال دمج تقنية المستشعرات الجديدة وتكامل البيانات والخوارزميات الذكية للتحكم الأمثل في معايير جودة المياه الرئيسية وإدارة التغذية واستخدام الطاقة. سيؤدي الابتكار الرئيسي إلى إنشاء حلقات تحكم جديدة داخل RAS ، تتناول جميع الجوانب الثلاثة قيد التركيز: التحكم في الأوزون ، والتحكم في الأمونيا ، والتحكم في التغذية ، والتحكم في استخدام الطاقة في التشغيل اليومي. بحلول نهاية المشروع ، نأمل في دمج حلقات التغذية الراجعة الجديدة في عملية RAS والتحقق من صحة تشغيلها باستخدام RAS الرقمي المزدوج والاختبار التجريبي.

RAS 4.0 هو تعاون بين Nofima ، مالك المشروع ، وشركاء البحث NORCE ، UiT-the Arctic University of Norway ، وشركاء الصناعة ، وموردي التكنولوجيا Searis ، و CreateView ، و Pure Salmon Kaldnes ، و OxyGuard ، ومجموعة Lerøy للمأكولات البحرية النرويجية.


يستخدم المشروع خبرة التقنيات الراسخة لدى شركاء الصناعة والمعرفة من أجهزة الاستشعار ومعايير البيانات والتكامل. جنبًا إلى جنب مع شركاء البحث الرائدين في تكنولوجيا RAS ، وعلم وظائف الأعضاء السمكية ، والسلوك ، والرفاهية ، والتعلم الآلي ، وتحليلات البيانات ، والكاميرات الذكية ، ورؤية الكمبيوتر ، نحن نعمل على تطوير مناهج رقمية ذكية للاتصال وتحسين بعض الجوانب المادية والرقمية والبيولوجية جوانب النظام.

الهدف من RAS 4.0 مدفوع بالفرضية القائلة بأن تحسين ظروف الإنتاج والتحكم فيها بناءً على العوامل البيولوجية في RAS سيؤدي إلى تحسين رفاهية وأداء سمك السلمون الأطلسي. تضمن التغذية الذكية للأسماك وفقًا للكتلة الحيوية الفعلية والشهية نموًا مثاليًا للأسماك وتقليل نفايات العلف. ستضمن مراقبة جودة المياه الذكية ظروفًا بيئية مستقرة أثناء الإنتاج ، مما يقلل من احتمالية حدوث حلقات غير متوقعة يمكن أن تؤدي إلى تقليل رفاهية الأسماك ونفوقها. سيسمح للمنتجين باستخدام مصادر الطاقة بكفاءة وفقًا لاحتياجات الإنتاج. ستزيد هذه التحسينات من الاستدامة البيئية والاقتصادية لإنتاج RAS وستقلل من المخاطر التشغيلية والاستثمارية.


نتائج إعلامية

سيخلق مشروع RAS 4.0 معرفة قيمة للغاية يمكن استخدامها من قبل تربية الأحياء المائية وموردي الصناعة الذين يعملون لتحقيق أقصى قدر من استدامة هذه العمليات. يقدم موردو التكنولوجيا في هذا المشروع المنتجات المتاحة تجاريًا لرصد الأسماك أو العمليات في تربية الأحياء المائية و RAS أو موردي RAS. سيحفز هذا المشروع جهودهم الحالية الهادفة إلى رقمنة وأتمتة RAS وتكامل منتجاتهم بأفضل طريقة ممكنة في عمليات RAS الحالية.

بالنسبة لمنتجي السلمون الأطلسي ، يعتبر أداء النمو الأمثل ورفاهية الأسماك والإنتاج الفعال شرطًا أساسيًا للإنتاج المستدام. الأتمتة هي الخطوة المنطقية التالية في تطوير RAS التي ستسمح لهم بتعظيم الخبرة الحالية والتعلم منها. تعد القدرة على التنبؤ بالأحداث أثناء الإنتاج بناءً على تحليل البيانات جانبًا آخر يحتل مكانة عالية في قائمة رغبات المنتجين. سيؤدي تحقيق إمكانات RAS إلى تقليل الضغط لزيادة الإنتاج في البحر وتأمين زيادة الاستثمار في هذا الحل المهم والمستدام بيئيًا لإنتاج الأسماك.

جيلينا كولارفيتش
باحث أول
نوفيما


معلومات اساسية
  • سنة التأسيس
    --
  • نوع العمل
    --
  • البلد / المنطقة
    --
  • الصناعة الرئيسية
    --
  • المنتجات الرئيسية
    --
  • الشخص الاعتباري
    --
  • عدد الموظفي
    --
  • قيمة الإخراج السنوي
    --
  • سوق التصدير
    --
  • تعاون العملاء
    --

إرسال استفسارك

اختر لغة مختلفة
English English Tiếng Việt Tiếng Việt ภาษาไทย ภาษาไทย বাংলা বাংলা العربية العربية Español Español français français Português Português
اللغة الحالية:العربية

NEWS
VR

Recirculating aquaculture systems

2022/07/25

Recirculating aquaculture systems: Improving Atlantic salmon performance

Sustainable Planet

18th May 2022

 

The RAS 4.0 project, led by Norwegian food research institute Nofima, is designed to optimise recirculating aquaculture systems to improve the welfare and performance of Atlantic salmon. Here, Jelena Kolarevic, Project Leader and Senior Researcher at Nofima, explains more.


Jelena Kolarevic, Senior Researcher at Nofima

Aquaculture has undoubtable potential to contribute to increased protein supply for the growing global population. Recently, it has been the fastest growing and most efficient way of producing protein for human consumption. Over the last 20 years, global aquaculture production has tripled from 34 to 112 million metric tonnes in live weight, and the demand for aquaculture products is on the rise. The production and exporting of seafood in Norway has also been increasing in recent years. Today, Norway is the second largest seafood-exporting country, with 3.1 million metric tonnes of seafood worth €12.1bn exported in 2021. Atlantic salmon is the most valuable and leading seafood export item, accounting for almost 68% of the total export value last year.

However, the sustainability of Atlantic salmon production and its performance in aquaculture has been under scrutiny in the last few decades due to its potential contribution to the decline in wild fish stocks worldwide. Namely, Atlantic salmon is a carnivorous species that requires the use of fish oil and fishmeal in its diet, to manage its performance and welfare, that mainly originates from anchovy, herring, and krill. Those species have been heavily targeted by fisheries due to high demand in fishmeal and oil.

To meet the growing demand for sustainably-produced food, efforts have been made to replace fish-based products in salmon feed with alternative sources of protein, including plant-based proteins, microbial ingrediencies, algae and insects. This was done in parallel with extensive research on feed efficiency and fish nutrition. As a result, the amount of fish oil and fishmeal in salmon feed has been reduced from 90% in the 1990s to 25% now.


               

               

               

Innovation in Norwegian aquaculture

Another sustainability challenge for the Norwegian salmon industry in recent years has been the management of pathogens and parasites during production. Since 2017, reported Atlantic salmon mortality was between 14.7-16.1% of total production, accounting for 54 million individuals in 2021. Fighting salmon lice has been the Achilles heel hampering the desired production goals, increasing operational costs, impacting upon fish welfare and reducing profits for the salmon aquaculture industry.

Attempts have been made to limit the use of chemicals in treatment of this parasite to prevent its acquired resistance and limit environmental pollution. Instead, heavy investments have been made in developing new technologies for the delousing of fish or prevention of contact between the salmon and sea louse. Innovative new production technologies, such as sea lice skirts for sea cages or floating semi-closed containment systems in the sea, have been developed and tested as methods to prevent louse infestation. Recirculating aquaculture systems (RAS) have been used in the last decade as an effective solution for increased biosecurity and control of parasites and pathogens. At the same time, RAS provides arguably a more environmentally-friendly way of producing salmon.

In Norway, the use of RAS was driven by the lack of freshwater that would allow increased production in salmon hatcheries, prior to the grow-out phase in sea cages. However, issues with salmon lice, escapees and increased mortalities prompted change in the regulations that allowed prolonged production of salmon on land in freshwater, brackish, and seawater. Currently, a number of salmon producers in Norway are producing larger fish on land in RAS, followed by a shorter seawater production phase. In this way, production in sea can be reduced to only seven months and, with it, so can the need for use of chemicals and other methods to fight against the louse. However, RAS is the most expensive way of salmon production in Norway that is viable, due to continuously increasing operation costs of production in sea cag© 1 iStock/slowmotiongli-122


What are recirculating aquaculture systems (RAS)?

RAS are land-based production systems that allow for a reduced use of new freshwater by treating and reusing process water from the fish tanks. It is common that over 90% of water in RAS is reused, while the small amounts of new water added daily are treated to different extents to prevent the entrance of parasites like louse and potential pathogens. Extensive treatment of effluent water from the RAS facilities allows for collection of unused nutrients and their revalorisation, creating value and reducing potential environmental pollution. RAS production can be placed close to the market, reducing the environmental footprint associated with transport and logistics, which is another reason why this technology is perceived as more environmentally sustainable. However, it is important to state that the high energy demand for operation of RAS is undermining its sustainability potential.

Within RAS treatment, uneaten feed and excrements from fish are mechanically removed, while biological filtration is employed to remove potentially toxic metabolites produced by fish, such as ammonia and nitrite. The gas exchange processes are necessary to enrich water with oxygen and to remove carbon dioxide, providing fish with the necessary conditions for optimal growth.


It is often stated that RAS provides fully controlled production conditions that can be tailored to the farmed animal needs. This can be stated for temperature, oxygen, and pH control within systems, together with water flows, water speed and the addition of new water. However, fully automated control of key water quality parameters, such as ammonia, carbon dioxide, turbidity, then feeding management and energy usage, are still absent.

Currently, those key water quality parameters are manually measured as point measurements that serve as a basis for decision-making during daily operations. Fish are fed based on the estimated biomass in the systems, which can often lead to overfeeding and detonation of water quality or underfeeding, resulting in the reduced welfare of produced fish. Several water treatment processes are designed for maximum production capacity and cannot be optimised to reduce energy usage when biomass is lower.

The main barriers for reaching the desired level of automation are a lack of reliable sensors to measure these key parameters and a lack of models describing the dynamic relationships between them. All these elements interact through complex biological/chemical/physical mechanisms which are not fully understood. It is therefore not sufficient to control or optimise one parameter at a time – a holistic model of the whole system is required to achieve this level of control in RAS.


                 
                 
                 


RAS 4.0

In 2021, the research council of Norway funded a four-year research project, known as RAS 4.0, with the aim of providing biologically-driven rapid-response automation of production conditions in RAS. This will be achieved through the integration of novel sensor technology, data integration and smart algorithms for optimal control of main water quality parameters, feeding management and energy usage. The main innovation will lead to the establishment of new control loops within RAS, addressing all three aspects in focus: control of ozonation, ammonia control, feeding control and control of energy usage in daily operation. By the end of the project, we hope to integrate new feedback loops into RAS operation and to validate their operation using digital twin RAS and empirical testing.

RAS 4.0 is a collaboration between Nofima, the project owner, research partners NORCE, UiT-the Arctic University of Norway, and industry partners, technology suppliers Searis, CreateView, Pure Salmon Kaldnes, OxyGuard and Norwegian salmon producer Lerøy Seafood group.


The project utilises the expertise of industry partners' established technologies and know-how from sensor, data standards and integration. Together with leading research partners in RAS technology, fish physiology, behaviour, welfare, Machine Learning, data analytics, smart cameras, and computer vision, we are working to develop smart digital approaches to connect and optimise some of the physical, digital, and biological aspects of the system.

The objective of RAS 4.0 is driven by the hypothesis that the optimisation and control of production conditions based on biological drivers in RAS will lead to the improved welfare and performance of Atlantic salmon. Smart feeding of fish according to actual biomass and appetite will ensure optimal fish growth and minimise feed waste. Smart water quality control will ensure stable environmental conditions during production, minimising the potential for unforeseen episodes that can lead to reduced fish welfare and mortalities. It will allow producers to efficiently use energy sources in accordance with production needs. These improvements will increase the environmental and economical sustainability of RAS production and will reduce operational and investment risks.


Informative results

The RAS 4.0 project will create highly valuable knowledge that can be used by aquaculture and industry suppliers working to maximise the sustainability of these operations. Technology suppliers in this project offer commercially available products for the monitoring of fish or operations in aquaculture and RAS or are RAS suppliers. This project will catalyse their existing efforts aimed towards digitalisation and automation of RAS and integration of their products in the best possible way in existing RAS operations.

For Atlantic salmon producers, optimal growth performance and welfare of fish and efficient production is a prerequisite for sustainable production. Automation is the next logical step in the development of RAS that will allow them to maximise existing experience and learn from it. The ability to predict events during production based on data analysis is another aspect that is high on the wish list of producers. Realising RAS potential will reduce the pressure to increase production in the sea and secure increased investment in this important environmentally-sustainable solution to fish production.

Jelena Kolarevic
Senior Researcher
Nofima


Basic Information
  • Year Established
    --
  • Business Type
    --
  • Country / Region
    --
  • Main Industry
    --
  • Main Products
    --
  • Enterprise Legal Person
    --
  • Total Employees
    --
  • Annual Output Value
    --
  • Export Market
    --
  • Cooperated Customers
    --

Send your inquiry

Choose a different language
English English Tiếng Việt Tiếng Việt ภาษาไทย ภาษาไทย বাংলা বাংলা العربية العربية Español Español français français Português Português
Current language:English